Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 28th, 2008

Have you given any thought to how music has shaped your life?  What was your first concious thought about the songs that surround you?  What was your first record/CD/downloadable song?  What type of music did your parents or grandparents or even great-grandparents listen to?  Do you have memories of them listening to music – and what type?  Are there people in your family who enjoyed dancing? What type of music did they (or do they) dance to?

My parents and grandparents listened to the Big Band Sounds.  I grew up watching the “Lawrence Welk Show” at my grandparents every Saturday night.  My mom still has the old 78s of lots of the older music.  So I developed a healthy appreciation for that music. 

The first song I remember that “took me away” was “Aquarius” by the Fifth Dimension.  I loved that song, memorized that song, and wanted it played on the radio as often as possible.  After that it was probably “Raindrops Keep Falling” by BJ Thomas, theme song for “Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid”.  Knew all the words and sang along. 

My parents loved to dance and I think if my mom had her way, she’d still be dancing all the time.  She liked the ballroom style, the 40s jitterbug, and even square dancing.  All of this was brought back to me yesterday as I sat listening to a jazz band concert.  Especially when they played Glenn Miller’s “In the Mood”.  In my mind’s eye, I could see my mom jitterbugging to this song – smiling, laughing and having a great time.  It’s how I believe she did dance for I was born way after this song was popular and rarely did I see my parents dance.

What music shaped your life – directly or indirectly?

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers