Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 29th, 2008

What Accent Do You Have?

Ever since my children were old enough to be in school and notice how others talked, they’ve laughed at how I’ve pronounced some words.  When I wash the dishes, I “woish” or “warsh” (mainly it’s the former) as I grew up in Ohio & that’s how we pronounced it.  I really have to think when I say it anymore in order to pronounce it the correct way “w-ah-sh”.  There is no “oi” or “r” in that word – at least that’s what the children say!  I also realized after I moved to North Texas that “pop” is the sound firecrackers make – not the carbonated liquid we drink.  That is “soda”.  Unless you are under 18 – then everything is “Coke”.  “What kind of coke do you want? A root beer or a Dr. Pepper?”  UGH!  A supervisor I used to have a long ways back used to laugh when I told him I was going “home”.  Somehow – and I’ve picked up on this when I listen to others from the Midwest – the “o” in that word just sounds different.  Now when I go back to visit my relatives in southwestern Ohio, they tell me I have picked up a bit of the Texas twang.  Oh, well! 

Thanks to a link from http://creativegene.blogspot.com that led me to http://desktopgenealogistunplugged.blogspot.com   I found a quiz on “What Accent Do You Have?”  I took the quiz & my accent is from the “Midland”.  It says:

“You have a Midland accent” is just another way of saying “you don’t have an accent.” You probably are from the Midland (Pennsylvania, southern Ohio, southern Indiana, southern Illinois, and Missouri) but then for all we know you could be from Florida or Charleston or one of those big southern cities like Atlanta or Dallas. You have a good voice for TV and radio.

If you would like to take your own quiz – you can either go to http://desktopgenealogistunplugged.blogspot.com to get the link or go directly to: http://www.gotoquiz.com/what_american_accent_do_you_have .

Go ahead – try it!  See what you come up with!

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers